You are currently viewing Municipality of Hagonoy – Davao Del Sur
Municipality of Hagonoy

Municipality of Hagonoy – Davao Del Sur

Hagonoy is a municipality located in the province of Davao del Sur in the southern part of the Philippines. Here are some key points about Hagonoy, Davao del Sur:

  1. Location: Hagonoy is situated in the southern part of the province of Davao del Sur, which is located on the island of Mindanao. It is bordered by the municipality of Kiblawan to the north, the municipality of Bansalan to the east, the municipality of Matanao to the south, and the province of Sarangani to the west.
  2. Geography: The municipality is characterized by rolling hills and fertile plains. It is primarily an agricultural area, with a significant portion of its land utilized for farming and cultivation.
  3. Economy: Agriculture is the main economic activity in Hagonoy, with rice, corn, coconut, and banana being the primary crops grown in the area. Livestock and poultry farming are also prevalent. Additionally, Hagonoy has some small-scale industries, including handicrafts and furniture-making.
  4. Natural Attractions: Hagonoy boasts natural attractions that showcase its scenic beauty. Among these are the pristine rivers and springs, such as the Balutakay River and Ogod River, which are popular spots for swimming and picnicking. The municipality is also home to lush forests and mountains, offering opportunities for hiking and exploring.
  5. Festivals: Hagonoy celebrates its annual town fiesta in honor of its patron saint, Saint Anthony of Padua, on June 13. The celebration includes religious processions, cultural performances, street dancing, and various festivities that highlight the town’s rich cultural heritage.
  6. Local Government: The Municipality of Hagonoy, Davao del Sur, is governed by a mayor, vice mayor, and municipal councilors who are elected by the residents. They are responsible for local governance, implementing policies, and providing essential services to the community.


The 21 barangays are as follows:

  • Aplaya
  • Balutakay
  • Clib
  • Guihing
  • Hagonoy Crossing
  • Kibuaya
  • La Union
  • Lanuro
  • Lapulabao
  • Leling
  • Mahayahay
  • Malabang Damsite
  • Maliit Digos
  • New Quezon
  • Paligue
  • Poblacion
  • Sacub
  • San Guillermo
  • San Isidro
  • Sinayawan
  • Tologan



For details, do any of the following:

Leave a Reply