The Municipality of Laak is a local government unit located in the Province of Davao De Oro (formerly known as Compostela Valley) in the Philippines. Here are some key details about the Municipality of Laak:

  1. Location: Laak is situated in the southeastern part of Davao de Oro province, in the region of Davao Region. It is bounded by the municipalities of Montevista and Maragusan to the north, Nabunturan to the west, and the province of Davao Oriental to the east.
  2. Governance: Laak is governed by a local government unit headed by a mayor and other elected officials. The municipality has its own set of offices and departments responsible for providing public services and implementing programs and projects for the welfare and development of its constituents.
  3. Economy: Laak is primarily an agricultural municipality, with farming and agri-based activities as the main sources of livelihood for its residents. The fertile lands in the area support the cultivation of crops such as rice, corn, bananas, coconut, and various fruits and vegetables. The municipality also has some small-scale mining operations contributing to its economy.
  4. Natural Resources: Laak is blessed with rich natural resources, including forests, rivers, and mountains. The municipality is home to part of the expansive Pantaron Mountain Range, which is known for its biodiversity and scenic landscapes. These natural resources provide opportunities for eco-tourism, hiking, and other nature-related activities.
  5. Indigenous Communities: Laak is inhabited by various indigenous groups, including the Mansaka and Mandaya tribes. These indigenous communities have preserved their cultural heritage, traditions, and crafts, offering a glimpse into the rich cultural diversity of the area.
  6. Education and Services: Laak provides access to education through its schools, including elementary and secondary institutions. The municipality also has healthcare facilities, public transportation, and basic utilities to cater to the needs of its residents.
  7. Festivals: Laak celebrates the Binuyugan Festival, which showcases the cultural heritage and traditions of the Mansaka tribe. The festival features street dancing, cultural presentations, trade fairs, and other activities that promote local arts, crafts, and products.

The Municipality of Laak offers a combination of natural beauty, cultural heritage, and agricultural vitality. Its commitment to sustainable development and the well-being of its residents makes it a promising and vibrant community within the province of Davao de Oro.


Laak is composed of 40 barangays, namely:

  • Aguinaldo
  • Amorcruz
  • Ampawid
  • Andap
  • Anitap
  • Bagong Silang
  • Banbanon
  • Belmonte
  • Binasbas
  • Bullucan
  • Ceboleda
  • Concepcion
  • Datu Ampunan
  • Datu Davao
  • Doña Josefa
  • El Katipunan
  • Il Papa
  • Imelda
  • Inakayan
  • Kaligutan
  • Kapatagan
  • Kidawa
  • Kilagding
  • Kiokmay
  • Laak (Poblacion)
  • Langtud
  • Longanapan
  • Mabuhay
  • Macopa
  • Malinao
  • Mangloy
  • Melale
  • Naga
  • New Bethlehem
  • Panamoren
  • Sabud
  • San Antonio
  • Sta Emilia
  • Sto Niño
  • Sisimon



Dorothy Gonzaga


Jayvee Tyron Uy


Ruwel Peter Gonzaga


Antonio “Ay-Eng” L. Libuangan


Honeyboy Libuangan

Municipal Councilor

  • Yeng Libuangan
  • Luchay Limlao
  • Jimboy Ner
  • Boyet Jovita
  • Ian Dela Cruz
  • Ai-ai Arambala
  • Jun Abellanida
  • Renato Langomez


Former Mayor

To be determine

Former Vice-Mayor

Mark Anthony S. Libuangan



  • Patag
  • Awao Falls
  • Silungan Falls
  • Tago Tago River