You are currently viewing City of Tandag – Surigao del Sur

City of Tandag – Surigao del Sur

Tandag City is a coastal city located in the province of Surigao del Sur, in the southern part of the island of Mindanao, Philippines. It is the capital city of the province and has a population of approximately 64,000 people as of 2021.

The city is known for its scenic beaches, islands, and waterfalls. Some of the popular tourist destinations in Tandag City include the Mabua Pebble Beach, which is famous for its unique shoreline composed of smooth pebbles, and the Kamanga Falls, a beautiful waterfall located in the heart of the city.

Tandag City is also an important economic center in the region, with agriculture, fishing, and small-scale industries as its main sources of livelihood. The city is home to several cultural festivals, such as the Naliyagan Festival, which celebrates the rich culture and traditions of the Surigaonon people. The festival showcases various activities, such as street dancing, beauty pageants, and trade fairs, among others.


The City of Tandag is divided into 21 barangays, namely:

  • Awasian (Tandag Airport)
  • Bag-ong Lungsod (Poblacion)
  • Bioto
  • Bongtud (Poblacion)
  • Buenavista (includes Mahayag)
  • Dagocdoc (Poblacion)
  • Mabua (Poblacion)
  • Mabuhay
  • Maitum
  • Maticdum
  • Pandanon
  • Pangi
  • Quezon
  • Rosario
  • Salvacion
  • San Agustin Norte
  • San Agustin Sur or Dawis
  • San Antonio
  • San Isidro
  • San Jose
  • Telaje (Poblacion)



Roxanne C. Pimentel


Eleanor D. Roosevelt


Image Gallery

Leave a Reply