You are currently viewing Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) – Tagum City

Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) – Tagum City

The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) is a professional basketball league in the United States that features women’s basketball teams. Here’s some information about the WNBA:

  1. Establishment: The WNBA was established in 1996 as a joint venture between the NBA (National Basketball Association) and various basketball organizations. It aimed to provide professional opportunities for women in basketball and promote the sport.
  2. Teams: The league currently consists of 12 teams, divided into two conferences: the Eastern Conference and the Western Conference. Each conference is further divided into three divisions. Some notable teams include the Los Angeles Sparks, Seattle Storm, Phoenix Mercury, and Minnesota Lynx.
  3. Season Format: The regular season typically runs from May to September. Each team plays 32 games, with 16 home games and 16 away games. The top eight teams from the regular season advance to the playoffs, culminating in the Finals, where the conference champions compete for the championship title.
  4. Notable Players: The WNBA has seen many talented players throughout its history. Some of the notable players include Lisa Leslie, Sheryl Swoopes, Cynthia Cooper, Diana Taurasi, Sue Bird, Maya Moore, Elena Delle Donne, and Breanna Stewart.
  5. Impact and Popularity: The WNBA has played a significant role in promoting women’s basketball and empowering female athletes. It has provided a platform for talented players to showcase their skills and has contributed to the growth of the sport. The league has gained a dedicated fanbase over the years, although it continues to face challenges in terms of television viewership and commercial success compared to the NBA.
  6. Social Activism: The WNBA has been at the forefront of social activism, with players and teams using their platforms to advocate for social justice issues. Many players have been vocal in their support for racial equality, LGBTQ+ rights, gender equality, and other important causes.


Eastern Conference

  • Atlanta Dream (Atlanta, Georgia)
  • Chicago Sky (Chicago, Illinois)
  • Connecticut Sun (Uncasville, Connecticut)
  • Indiana Fever (Indianapolis, Indiana)
  • New York Liberty (Brooklyn, New York)
  • Washington Mystics (Washington, D.C.)

Western Conference

  • Dallas Wings (Arlington, Texas)
  • Las Vegas Aces (Las Vegas, Nevada)
  • Los Angeles Sparks (Los Angeles, California)
  • Minnesota Lynx (Minneapolis, Minnesota)
  • Phoenix Mercury (Phoenix, Arizona)
  • Seattle Storm (Seattle, Washington)

Please note that team names, ownership, and locations may change over time due to various factors such as relocations or expansions.


The teams in the Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) play their home games in various arenas and stadiums. Here are some notable arenas/stadiums associated with WNBA teams:

  1. Barclays Center – Brooklyn, New York: The New York Liberty play their home games at the Barclays Center, a multi-purpose indoor arena located in Brooklyn.
  2. Wintrust Arena – Chicago, Illinois: The Chicago Sky play their home games at the Wintrust Arena, which is located in the Near South Side neighborhood of Chicago.
  3. College Park Center – Arlington, Texas: The Dallas Wings play their home games at the College Park Center, a multi-purpose arena situated on the campus of the University of Texas at Arlington.
  4. Mandalay Bay Events Center – Las Vegas, Nevada: The Las Vegas Aces play their home games at the Mandalay Bay Events Center, an indoor arena located within the Mandalay Bay Resort and Casino complex.
  5. Staples Center – Los Angeles, California: The Los Angeles Sparks share the Staples Center with the Los Angeles Lakers and Los Angeles Clippers of the NBA. The Staples Center is a multi-purpose arena in downtown Los Angeles.
  6. Target Center – Minneapolis, Minnesota: The Minnesota Lynx play their home games at the Target Center, an arena located in downtown Minneapolis.
  7. Talking Stick Resort Arena – Phoenix, Arizona: The Phoenix Mercury play their home games at the Talking Stick Resort Arena, a multi-purpose arena in downtown Phoenix.
  8. KeyArena at Seattle Center – Seattle, Washington: The Seattle Storm play their home games at KeyArena, a multi-purpose arena located in the Seattle Center.

These are just a few examples, and it’s important to note that the arena/stadium arrangements may change over time due to renovations or relocations.


The Women’s National Basketball Association (WNBA) has seen many notable players who have made significant contributions to the league. Here are some of the prominent players in WNBA history:

  1. Lisa Leslie: A legendary player and one of the pioneers of the WNBA, Lisa Leslie played for the Los Angeles Sparks. She is a three-time WNBA MVP, two-time WNBA Champion, and an eight-time All-Star.
  2. Sheryl Swoopes: Sheryl Swoopes is considered one of the greatest players in WNBA history. She played for the Houston Comets and was the first-ever WNBA MVP. Swoopes won four consecutive WNBA Championships with the Comets and was a three-time WNBA MVP.
  3. Diana Taurasi: Diana Taurasi, often referred to as “D.T.,” is known for her scoring ability and competitiveness. She has played her entire career for the Phoenix Mercury, winning multiple WNBA Championships and earning numerous accolades, including the WNBA Finals MVP award multiple times.
  4. Tamika Catchings: Tamika Catchings had a stellar career with the Indiana Fever, earning numerous accolades. She is a WNBA Champion, WNBA Finals MVP, and ten-time All-Star. Catchings is also known for her defensive prowess, winning the WNBA Defensive Player of the Year award multiple times.
  5. Maya Moore: Maya Moore played for the Minnesota Lynx and was one of the most dominant players in the league. She won multiple WNBA Championships and was named WNBA Finals MVP multiple times. Moore temporarily stepped away from basketball to focus on criminal justice reform activism.
  6. Sue Bird: Sue Bird, a point guard, has spent her entire career with the Seattle Storm. She is a four-time WNBA Champion, an eleven-time All-Star, and has been a key leader for the Storm. Bird is known for her playmaking skills and basketball IQ.
  7. Elena Delle Donne: Elena Delle Donne, known for her versatility and scoring ability, has played for the Chicago Sky and the Washington Mystics. She is a two-time WNBA MVP, WNBA Champion, and has been recognized as one of the league’s top players throughout her career.

These are just a few examples of notable players in history. Many other talented athletes have contributed to the growth and success of the league. The WNBA continues to showcase exceptional talent and produce new stars each season.



For WNBA jersey orders, do any of the following:

Leave a Reply